111. To Know, Yet Be Helpless


Of all life’s difficulties

Conundrums, emptiness

A quandary ruins my peace

To know, yet be helpless

Watch homeless juveniles

Look with hunger in eyes

Away from their world by miles

I know, yet caught in my own ties

See my own loved one

Need my tender attention

With an erupting anger, undone

I know, yet a creature of reaction

Justice to one and all

An urge for freedom equated

Unfair ways bring its fall

I know, yet live separated

My habit, thoughts, deed

Shaped by judgment sound

Veer away by a wily greed

I know, yet lose my ground

To see this weakness kill

Work against my honest wish

Call it a lack of will

Trapped by life’s bait as fish

© Venkat

Your thoughts...

