45. Rule of Rules


When I was free and young

I was asked to follow rules

Rules for the prayers sung

Right ways taught in schools

It was an age of discipline

To learn the way of order

Look at what they mean

To remain within a border

Now I have grown up

Stuck in a world of rules

My words are not a blowup

Sometimes reality fools

Stung by the venom of regulation

It restricts my thoughts to no end

My ideas numb without sensation

Stuck with ways unable to bend

I dictate others with rules abound

Unable to realize the meaning

Preaching on rules unsound

A myopic vision with no reasoning

To reject people based on a rulebook

Is worse than not following rules

Look within and take a deep look

Rules are just man-made tools

Realize the limitation of a rule told

It has a scope and extent defined

As you grow wise from young to old

So should a rule be honed and refined

© Venkat

Your thoughts...

